Baby BMW Forum banner

Brands Hatch track day 17th October

6K views 57 replies 10 participants last post by  git-r2 
#1 ·
Just signed up for the 17th of October.. anyone else doing this day?

#6 ·
kent dan said:
I'm all booked in for the 17th :D , and have booked a garage, so come and dump all your stuff in mine.

Also booked in for Snetterton on 4th Nov if anyone is up for it.
Nice one! What car you bringing on the Mini from your signature or the M140?

I've booked an instruction whilst its my first time there.

#11 ·
kent dan said:
lol, I'm crap, so probably.

Can anyone recommend a decent lap timer app. I would like to see how slow I actually am :lol2:
Harry's lap timer works well.

Available on android and apple.

#12 ·
git-r2 said:
kent dan said:

Can anyone recommend a decent lap timer app. I would like to see how slow I actually am :lol2:

Thanks for the advice. Do you run it with an external GPS unit, or will the phone GPS be good enough?

#13 ·
#14 ·
kent dan said:
git-r2 said:
kent dan said:

Thanks for the advice. Do you run it with an external GPS unit, or will the phone GPS be good enough?
No, I just use it with an iPhone 6. It's actually very accurate most of the time, I've tested it alongside some 1kplus data logging equipment and the times are usually within a tenth of second if not exactly the same. It displays corner g as well which is really useful, and although it lags the numbers it makes are also the same as the data logging stuff I've used.

This app was my reasoning for getting an iPhone many years ago :)

Do BMW do a lap timer app too?

#15 ·
[/quote]

No, I just use it with an iPhone 6. It's actually very accurate most of the time, I've tested it alongside some 1kplus data logging equipment and the times are usually within a tenth of second if not exactly the same. It displays corner g as well which is really useful, and although it lags the numbers it makes are also the same as the data logging stuff I've used.