Engine remapping - implications for insurance invalidation + eventual resale?

Find out more about the BMW 1 Series F20, F21, F22 & F23
Manufactured from end of 2011

Moderators: marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster, babybmwadmin, Rich196

agm2992mga

Engine remapping - implications for insurance invalidation + eventual resale?

Post by agm2992mga » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:12 am

Morning all,

I'm new to this so would be very grateful for some guidance from your collective wisdom.
I have been doing a bit of research on what it is and understand that a lot of BMW engines in particular across their range of models start life the same but are tuned to perform differently.

Is it really true that a 116d, 118d, 120d could all be tuned up accordingly to a 125d or in between?

How does this affect insurance, however? As surely it would invalidate current insurance if we were not to tell them. And if you do declare and get it accepted, how much will it likely hike the premium?

Secondly, when you eventually come to sell the vehicle, does this make things a mess again?

Does anyone know a good, reliable and reputable outfit in Sheffield or Manchester that I could make enquiry at?

Thanks a lot to anyone for their 2 cents and experience in advance.
118d BMW 2017 - Mineral Grey - F21

GingerOtter
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member

Re: Engine remapping - implications for insurance invalidation + eventual resale?

Post by GingerOtter » Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:23 pm

Hi.

Just be wary of companies telling you about crazy increases in power etc as they can be inflated and untrue. Do your research - this thread will come up with great advice I’m sure.

I’m not sure if BMW do an approved power pack increase on your car? Might be worth checking.