Baby BMW Forum banner

Bugger, pot hole

3K views 34 replies 24 participants last post by  mouse140i 
#1 ·
A420, Oxfordshire, boom, flat spot so noticeable didn't really need to measure it, on the inside edge.
Rights, where's best to get another front wheel, Cotswolds?

#5 ·
I hit a horrific one on Thursday... worst I've ever hit and made a horrible noise. Can't notice anything wrong with the front of the car but what should I be looking for? What's a flat spot as the OP says?

#8 ·
The council will only give you money if the pot hole has been previously reported. If not, and you are the first to report it, they give nothing.

Which is a bit insane given the level of workmanship around most drainage covers is pretty awful. I am no expert but they always just seems to cave in.

#9 ·
I've claimed twice in recent years and had success both times. Neither road was the council's responsibility.

One was a sunken manhole cover on Riverside Drive in Aberdeen. The council instantly put me on to the water company and deemed that was their responsibility.

The second was the A90 and that road is maintained by BEAR.

Both cases took quite a while to settle. BEAR were especially slow to respond.

The solicitor acting on behalf of the water board wasn't easy to deal with either. They were fighting over the cost of having a wheel repaired as it would be subject to "wear and tear anyway". They were trying to account what the lifetime of a wheel would be and factor that in.

You've got to make an effort to keep costs down. Prove you've asked for a couple of quotes to repair or replace the damaged items.

Don't expect the cheque to come soon, but that road is impossible to justify.

#11 ·
As a Highway Engineer who works for a council... nothing will happen quickly. Depending on the circumstances,you may get a pay out. As mentioned above if it's been reported, deemed unsafe and requiring repair and no completed within the allotted time window.