M2 temp display on Mx35i

Information about coding your BMW

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis

Blind Pugh
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5681
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:36 am

M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Blind Pugh » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:54 am

Folks,

See below - M2 has an easy access temp gauge as part of scrollable display via BC button.

Image

Coding gurus - how to activate this on a non M2 car ???

BP
F20 M135i EB AT with options - what a hoot !
Image Image

User avatar
Srjlewis17
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:31 am

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Srjlewis17 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:40 pm

This would be amazing!

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
2014 M135i F21 6MT AW - M4 grilles - Alcantara LCI steering wheel - M Performance shifter - BBS SR's Satin Himalaya Grey - Eibach Pro Kit - Gladen BMW201 Extreme & Mosconi D2 100.4 DSP - Armytrix turbo back with DP - JB4 with BW Chiptune Map 6

dape90
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:56 am

M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby dape90 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:51 pm

This would be very usefully indeed.
Major stumbling block could be the code. It might just not be a feature on the m135i software at all!

Real shame if that's the case though.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
M135i

User avatar
redctr
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby redctr » Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:34 pm

This!

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
M235i AW, Coral Red Leather, Sport Auto, Pro Media, Driver Comfort, Sun Protection, Heated Seats, Folding Mirrors, M P Splitter, Gloss Black Twin Slat Grille, Black Roof Wrap, Black Mirror Caps

User avatar
Feeps
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Feeps » Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:44 pm

:wow:
Car 1 - ///M135i LCI F20 2016 | EB | Auto | Driver Comfort | Pro Media | Heated Seats | Harman Kardon Audio
Car 2 - 118i M Sport LCI F20 2016 | AW| Manual | Driver Comfort | Black Panel Display

Blind Pugh
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5681
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:36 am

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Blind Pugh » Tue Mar 15, 2016 3:42 pm

dape90 wrote:This would be very usefully indeed.
Major stumbling block could be the code. It might just not be a feature on the m135i software at all!

Real shame if that's the case though.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes and maybe NBT I-step integration level needs to be a certain release or higher to be able to show the graphic and that it works ie the needle/pointer actually moves from LHS into towards the middle.

According to M2 blurb - the display is inputs from oil and coolant temperature.
I'm assuming it must also take WGDC signals from DME to show "COLD" above the display until WGDC gets to 100% and "OK" from there onwards when you can go WOT......
F20 M135i EB AT with options - what a hoot !
Image Image

User avatar
suboy121
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby suboy121 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 7:51 pm

I've coded this on my car but the counter never moves it stays stuck far left .....

On mine it's just the lower graphic nothing else

I wonder why it doesn't work on mine ... Hmmmm
F21 M135i....current
Audi S5 (V8)....sold
Porsche Cayman S....sold
Evo 9 FQ360 MR....sold
E46 M3 (Vert)....sold

User avatar
rusty13
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 3778
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 7:30 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby rusty13 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:55 pm

suboy121 wrote:I've coded this on my car but the counter never moves it stays stuck far left .....

On mine it's just the lower graphic nothing else

I wonder why it doesn't work on mine ... Hmmmm


We need wibbles to tell us if it's possible.

I'm all over this tho if it's possible!!
M135i Estoril Blue - 5 Door - Manual
Image

User avatar
suboy121
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby suboy121 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:01 pm

This is the coding I did which now allows me to select the graphic above on the BC cluster menu thingy:-

Motor temperature:-

KOMBI > = 3000 > = BC_MOTORTEMP_ENABLE (Set to aktiv)
F21 M135i....current
Audi S5 (V8)....sold
Porsche Cayman S....sold
Evo 9 FQ360 MR....sold
E46 M3 (Vert)....sold

User avatar
Feeps
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Feeps » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:15 am

Surprised Wibbles isn't all over this :D
Car 1 - ///M135i LCI F20 2016 | EB | Auto | Driver Comfort | Pro Media | Heated Seats | Harman Kardon Audio
Car 2 - 118i M Sport LCI F20 2016 | AW| Manual | Driver Comfort | Black Panel Display

Liamjohn10
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 11:34 am
Location: Blackpool

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Liamjohn10 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:30 am

This could be a great addition to our cars of its possible to code in!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
M235i Melbourne Red. :spotman:

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 4755
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: In the Coding Cave...

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Wibbles » Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:40 pm

Feeps wrote:Surprised Wibbles isn't all over this :D


I've been all over this for a long time :wink:

The Water/Oil temp data is available from the OBD, therefore over the CANBUS, and in turn the KOMBI. I suspect that a KOMBI firmware flash and setting KOMBI > = 3000 > = BC_MOTORTEMP_ENABLE (Set to aktiv) should make this work.

The caveat on all of this is if the M2 Kombi is different to the M135i Kombi and if the latest firmware available contains the code for the temp gauge yet or not.

I've not tried coding this on my car yet, I will do this weekend as I need to do some other coding at the weekend. If this does work then I think it's a great addition.
F21 M135i - AW CR - lots of options.
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here

AdamC
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:02 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby AdamC » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:38 pm

This would be quality. Let us know how you get on Wibbles!!
2015 LCI M135i - AW - Coral - Auto - HK - Pro Nav & More -
Image

Blind Pugh
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5681
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:36 am

Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Blind Pugh » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:49 pm

Wibbles wrote:
Feeps wrote:Surprised Wibbles isn't all over this :D


I've been all over this for a long time :wink:

The Water/Oil temp data is available from the OBD, therefore over the CANBUS, and in turn the KOMBI. I suspect that a KOMBI firmware flash and setting KOMBI > = 3000 > = BC_MOTORTEMP_ENABLE (Set to aktiv) should make this work.

The caveat on all of this is if the M2 Kombi is different to the M135i Kombi and if the latest firmware available contains the code for the temp gauge yet or not.

I've not tried coding this on my car yet, I will do this weekend as I need to do some other coding at the weekend. If this does work then I think it's a great addition.

Wibbles,

Read this on Bimmerfest Forum - does not sound promising.
https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showt ... 688&page=2
One poster [post # 43 page 2 and again # 56 on 3rd page] got temp display working but his M235i engine went into service mode ??
TBH coding jargon is all dutch to me but if you've not seen this before, it may be useful.

BP
F20 M135i EB AT with options - what a hoot !
Image Image

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 4755
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: In the Coding Cave...

Re: RE: Re: M2 temp display on Mx35i

Postby Wibbles » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:06 pm

Blind Pugh wrote:
Wibbles wrote:
Feeps wrote:Surprised Wibbles isn't all over this :D


I've been all over this for a long time :wink:

The Water/Oil temp data is available from the OBD, therefore over the CANBUS, and in turn the KOMBI. I suspect that a KOMBI firmware flash and setting KOMBI > = 3000 > = BC_MOTORTEMP_ENABLE (Set to aktiv) should make this work.

The caveat on all of this is if the M2 Kombi is different to the M135i Kombi and if the latest firmware available contains the code for the temp gauge yet or not.

I've not tried coding this on my car yet, I will do this weekend as I need to do some other coding at the weekend. If this does work then I think it's a great addition.

Wibbles,

Read this on Bimmerfest Forum - does not sound promising.
https://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showt ... 688&page=2
One poster [post # 43 page 2 and again # 56 on 3rd page] got temp display working but his M235i engine went into service mode ??
TBH coding jargon is all dutch to me but if you've not seen this before, it may be useful.

BP

The M235i has M2 DME software but that caused the car to go into limp mode, however the gauge worked.

This would indicate that the issue lies with the DME sending the right signals to the KOMBI. Strange though as the hidden menu shows water and oil Temps. This is a software issue IMHO. I shall code and test myself....
F21 M135i - AW CR - lots of options.
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here


Return to “Coding/Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 2 guests