Business head unit to professional unit

Check here to find out more about ICE, Satellite Navigation, Telecoms etc.

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster

Post Reply
Zxzzxzxx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 7:54 am

Business head unit to professional unit

Post by Zxzzxzxx » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:54 am

Hi guys, I have a 1 series and have just upgraded from the Buisness head unit to tye Professional unit. No problems extracting however the Ariel plug on the pro hu is encased in black plastic. And as such the female Ariel lead on the lead in the car won’t fit. I’m assuming there’s an adapter of some kind or can I just try an remove the plastic on the back of the pro hu .

Many thanks

Gary

User avatar
Mr Musket
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:28 pm

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by Mr Musket » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:59 am

If the actual connectors are the same and the lead will stay connected just remove the plastic piece from the head unit...

Did you get the Professional head unit with USB and DAB?
2010 E82 125i M Sport Manual Space Grey/Coral Red | Pro Nav | DAB | HK | Xenons | Heated memory seats

Zxzzxzxx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 7:54 am

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by Zxzzxzxx » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:02 am

Hi Mr Musket. Removing the plastic shroud looks a viable option although it’s gonna be tricky. It’s the standard Pro Unit. No dab or Bluetooth.

User avatar
Mr Musket
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:28 pm

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by Mr Musket » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:07 am

I have seen Professional headunits for sale on eBay with the black plastic piece removed and did wonder why :wink:
2010 E82 125i M Sport Manual Space Grey/Coral Red | Pro Nav | DAB | HK | Xenons | Heated memory seats

Zxzzxzxx
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 7:54 am

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by Zxzzxzxx » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:12 pm

All sorted. Trimmed the black collar and works fine.

And for those thinking of upgrading....

Do it.

chesterflaps
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by chesterflaps » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:42 pm

Zxzzxzxx wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:12 pm
All sorted. Trimmed the black collar and works fine.

And for those thinking of upgrading....

Do it.
How much did it cost you and was it easy to swap? Also what year is your car?

Thanks.

stevei
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:44 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by stevei » Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:13 am

I have the Business Unit with DAB/Bluetooth and Nav.
Is it just a straight swap.
Alpine White 2015 F21 116i Sport Nav Gloss black 379s

chesterflaps
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:13 pm

Re: Business head unit to professional unit

Post by chesterflaps » Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:00 am

chesterflaps wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:42 pm
Zxzzxzxx wrote:
Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:12 pm
All sorted. Trimmed the black collar and works fine.

And for those thinking of upgrading....

Do it.
How much did it cost you and was it easy to swap? Also what year is your car?

Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “In Car Entertainment, Communication & Sat Nav”