Baby BMW Forum banner

Machine polishing

5K views 27 replies 14 participants last post by  Sam1er 
#1 ·
Need to machine polish my car to get rid of swirls and a few light scratches. Was looking at buying this kit
Is this a good kit to start considering I've never done this before?

#2 ·
I can't see why there would be any problem with using that kit.

There's probably a lot of variety you can choose from anyway perhaps even cheaper.

At the end of the day I think machine polishing is more about technique, patience and preparation.

You wanna clean the car very throughly followed by decontaminating with iron x and clay bar before you even consider machine'ing it. Makes the job easier and better results.

Someone on here might be able to advise in a better machine for you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Hmmmm..

The polisher is fine as a starter (especially if you have never used one before..) but it will struggle with the harder BMW paint to remove the swirls as its not the most powerful machine to use. The products / compounds included are also not good enough to do more than an enhancement to the paint (they are not heavy enough to remove swirling on German paint, only cover them up)

Then their is Monza themselves - they had stolen the use of many of my images and passing them off as their own! Yes really! They have paid me for them now but says alot about them passing off others peoples work as theirs!

If you want some ideas of better products (and cheaper with better service!) then PM me and I'll get back to you tomorrow..

#4 ·
Blackroc said:
Hmmmm..

The polisher is fine as a starter (especially if you have never used one before..) but it will struggle with the harder BMW paint to remove the swirls as its not the most powerful machine to use. The products / compounds included are also not good enough to do more than an enhancement to the paint (they are not heavy enough to remove swirling on German paint, only cover them up)