Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Information about coding your BMW

Moderators: Lambster, Rich196, marco_polo, Producethis, babybmwadmin

robsaboy
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 1414
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:27 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by robsaboy » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:17 pm

Where are you based - someone could maybe lend you a cable.
M140i, Mineral Grey

User avatar
Nottsknots
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 3108
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Nottsknots » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:38 pm

Enet looks a bit like scart at one end, but its definately not one. Something like
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01F8J2E3S/ ... 5958130302

Disconnecting the battery wont screw anything; you will have to reset the clock, but dont worry about it (just be careful to take the lead off quickly and avoid too much sparking - make sure you dont have any high loads on whilst doing the disconnect - fan off, radio off, doors shut so there arent too many lights on etc. - unlikely you can do any damage, but sensible precautions reduce the already small risk to negligible).
E87 118d, stock, plus PDC control unit drain, Parrot, debadged, Mothercare baby shades (but no babies), and occassionally a good layer of wax. Instantly forgettable, and thats the way I like it.

Not long now until the end of May...

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5163
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Wibbles » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:19 am

Nottsknots wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:35 am
Kerr wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:42 pm
That tamper dot is going to cause you hassle in the future if it can't be removed.
Aw, dont take away F32Daves only hope :)

I dont think thats what Wibbles meant about not being able to “code it out”. If I understand this right, you cant switch the dot off in isolation, but you can correct the VIN in the other modules, so its all in sync, then the dot goes away on its own. Its only there because the software has spotted an inconsistency. Its not fixed there permanently.

Even in the worse case stated by Wibbles, BMW will have the encryption algorithm, somwhilst it might be a trip to the dealers, and a whole bunch of explaining to assure its not been done for underhand purposes, its possible to correct it. Start with remote coding and see if that works
It would seem like it's coded default values and probably wiped the CAFD which is why the cloks are lit up like a christmas tree.

The mileage being 999999 is more worrying as that usually requires the EEPROM to be removed from the board on the clocks and erased - however if the clocks are newer than 03/2016 the mileage is encypted and is much harder to wipe out (I don't have the tools for that currently as it is a big investment for something I don't use much)
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

User avatar
Nottsknots
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 3108
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Nottsknots » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:50 pm

Thanks - I like to learn something new every day :D . Not that I think I’ll be needing to know that, but at least I know YOU know, so thats enough for me.

“ ‘ang on a minute, I know a man who can!” (Think Michael Caine)
E87 118d, stock, plus PDC control unit drain, Parrot, debadged, Mothercare baby shades (but no babies), and occassionally a good layer of wax. Instantly forgettable, and thats the way I like it.

Not long now until the end of May...

Octavius
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 20064
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Octavius » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:26 pm

The mileage will be recorded on the key ?
Glacier Silver 320d lci M Sport.

User avatar
dailydoggy
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:14 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by dailydoggy » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:57 pm

Tis a sobering harsh lesson indeed in dicking about wildly with iffy 3 party apps with zero knowledge..
340BHP, manual shift ,£140 tax!!Got wood! :drive:

F32Dave
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:05 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by F32Dave » Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:41 pm

Based in Birmingham, also it’s a 16 plate.

User avatar
Dizmond
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 1:07 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Dizmond » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:55 am

Hey F32Dave, did you have any joy getting this sorted in the end? Just curious.. :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2016 BMW M135i LCI Auto - Estoril Blue (Current)
2003 BMW 530d Aegean
2002 BMW 530d
2002 Smart ForTwo
1995 Mercedes C200
1991 Honda Prelude 2.2i VTEC
1983 Porsche 924
1995 Vauxhall Cavalier 1.8 LSi
1985 Ford Sierra 1.6
1984 Vauxhall Cavalier 1.4l

User avatar
Connar92
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:59 am

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Connar92 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:25 pm

This is quite a scary read considering the amount of damage that can be done coding simple things.

Are all these app coding devices all the same? I.e bimmercode, carly etc etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Glacier silver M235i - 🦅 Birds B2 dynamics kit (suspension and Quaife) - M4 LCA and TS - powerflex subframe inserts - 5mm front 15mm rear tpi spacers with orbit grey 436m’s

Octavius
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 20064
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Octavius » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:52 pm

If I need any coding in the future I will be contacting Wibbles.
I’ve coded with Carly in the past but have read too many threads about problems caused by this type of app.
Glacier Silver 320d lci M Sport.

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5163
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Wibbles » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:48 am

Octavius wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:52 pm
If I need any coding in the future I will be contacting Wibbles.
I’ve coded with Carly in the past but have read too many threads about problems caused by this type of app.
Good to see you are back in the BMW fold :)
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Octavius
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 20064
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Octavius » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:00 pm

Wibbles wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:48 am
Octavius wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:52 pm
If I need any coding in the future I will be contacting Wibbles.
I’ve coded with Carly in the past but have read too many threads about problems caused by this type of app.
Good to see you are back in the BMW fold :)
Thanks Craig. No doubt I will be in touch soon.
Glacier Silver 320d lci M Sport.

Ry_B
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:10 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by Ry_B » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:21 pm

Scary what can happen. OP - did you manage to get this sorted? Hope you did :shock:
M235i in mineral white - Auto. Extremely well specced :mrgreen:

bastoj
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:37 pm

Re: Mileage now showing 999999 after coding

Post by bastoj » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:45 pm

Hoping this got resolved. I have never coded anything on my current car (F32) but always tempted when reading everything that can be done but I think this reminds me that I definitely would not do it myself. Just too risky for me even though I am sure that most of the time these things go without a hitch.

Post Reply

Return to “Coding/Software”