Page 1 of 1

Coding Wifi

Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:06 am
by andybell007
Hi All

I have a 67 plate 125D Shadow Edition with Pro Nav and I'm wondering if it's possible to code Wifi?

The end goal is I'm trying to enable screen mirroring from Android.

Cheers

Andy

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:32 pm
by Matthaus
Is the wifi not just a hot spot that uses the sim in the car at some stupidly expensive rate?

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:35 pm
by andybell007
From the little information I could find there appeared to be an android cast/screen mirror option if you have WiFi hotspot which makes sense as you'd need WiFi for that to work. Anyone know the answer?

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am
by Wibbles
Android screen mirroring can easily be coded. to be of any use you would also need to have Video in Motion coded to be able to use the screen mirroring on the move.

I can do both remotely or in person if you're near Tyneside.

PM or Email for prices.

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:11 pm
by Matthaus
Wibbles wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am
Android screen mirroring can easily be coded. to be of any use you would also need to have Video in Motion coded to be able to use the screen mirroring on the move.

I can do both remotely or in person if you're near Tyneside.

PM or Email for prices.
Does this need ID6 or does it work with ID5?

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:13 pm
by Wibbles
Matthaus wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:11 pm
Wibbles wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am
Android screen mirroring can easily be coded. to be of any use you would also need to have Video in Motion coded to be able to use the screen mirroring on the move.

I can do both remotely or in person if you're near Tyneside.

PM or Email for prices.
Does this need ID6 or does it work with ID5?
Works with either - id5 & 6 are just different graphical interfaces.

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:18 am
by Matthaus
Wibbles wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:13 pm
Matthaus wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:11 pm
Wibbles wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:49 am
Android screen mirroring can easily be coded. to be of any use you would also need to have Video in Motion coded to be able to use the screen mirroring on the move.

I can do both remotely or in person if you're near Tyneside.

PM or Email for prices.
Does this need ID6 or does it work with ID5?
Works with either - id5 & 6 are just different graphical interfaces.
Hi Wibbles

Do you know if there is a guide anywhere on how to make this work? I have WIFI etc already and I wonder if it should just work or the dealer can turn it on?

Info seems very thin on the ground as to how it works or how you enable it

Thanks

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:36 am
by Wibbles
Matthaus wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:18 am
Wibbles wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:13 pm
Matthaus wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:11 pm


Does this need ID6 or does it work with ID5?
Works with either - id5 & 6 are just different graphical interfaces.
Hi Wibbles

Do you know if there is a guide anywhere on how to make this work? I have WIFI etc already and I wonder if it should just work or the dealer can turn it on?

Info seems very thin on the ground as to how it works or how you enable it

Thanks
Video in Motion on ID5 or screen mirroring?

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:19 am
by Matthaus
Wibbles wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:36 am
Matthaus wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:18 am
Wibbles wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:13 pm


Works with either - id5 & 6 are just different graphical interfaces.
Hi Wibbles

Do you know if there is a guide anywhere on how to make this work? I have WIFI etc already and I wonder if it should just work or the dealer can turn it on?

Info seems very thin on the ground as to how it works or how you enable it

Thanks
Video in Motion on ID5 or screen mirroring?

Screen mirroring - I have since found a video of where it should be in ID5 - but I dont seem to get that option. Is it defo available for all M240s?

I wonder if I should speak to BMW to see how to get it enabled but I fear they dont have a clue what I am talking about :(

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:54 pm
by H17YD_L

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:41 pm
by Wibbles
Matthaus wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:19 am
Wibbles wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:36 am
Matthaus wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:18 am


Hi Wibbles

Do you know if there is a guide anywhere on how to make this work? I have WIFI etc already and I wonder if it should just work or the dealer can turn it on?

Info seems very thin on the ground as to how it works or how you enable it

Thanks
Video in Motion on ID5 or screen mirroring?

Screen mirroring - I have since found a video of where it should be in ID5 - but I dont seem to get that option. Is it defo available for all M240s?

I wonder if I should speak to BMW to see how to get it enabled but I fear they dont have a clue what I am talking about :(

a BMW dealer will give you a blank stare and say "it's not possible"

It is possible, either code it yourself or I can do it remotely for a fee.

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:59 pm
by Matthaus
Wibbles wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:41 pm
Matthaus wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:19 am
Wibbles wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:36 am


Video in Motion on ID5 or screen mirroring?

Screen mirroring - I have since found a video of where it should be in ID5 - but I dont seem to get that option. Is it defo available for all M240s?

I wonder if I should speak to BMW to see how to get it enabled but I fear they dont have a clue what I am talking about :(

a BMW dealer will give you a blank stare and say "it's not possible"

It is possible, either code it yourself or I can do it remotely for a fee.
Can it be done with bimmercode? If not what does it Need?

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:28 pm
by Wibbles
Matthaus wrote:
Wibbles wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:41 pm
Matthaus wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:19 am

Screen mirroring - I have since found a video of where it should be in ID5 - but I dont seem to get that option. Is it defo available for all M240s?

I wonder if I should speak to BMW to see how to get it enabled but I fear they dont have a clue what I am talking about :(

a BMW dealer will give you a blank stare and say "it's not possible"

It is possible, either code it yourself or I can do it remotely for a fee.
Can it be done with bimmercode? If not what does it Need?
I believe it can be done via Bimmercode. I don't have any experience with that app but there are others on this forum that can help.

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:29 pm
by Matthaus
Wibbles wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:28 pm
Matthaus wrote:
Wibbles wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:41 pm



a BMW dealer will give you a blank stare and say "it's not possible"

It is possible, either code it yourself or I can do it remotely for a fee.
Can it be done with bimmercode? If not what does it Need?
I believe it can be done via Bimmercode. I don't have any experience with that app but there are others on this forum that can help.

Thanks. Appreciated.

Re: Coding Wifi

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:19 am
by RDowson
Check in case you already have the option there.

Go to the area of the Settings menu where you add a new device and it should show something like CarPlay, iDrive, WiFi.

If you connect via WiFi, I belibe you are presented with a Vodafone screen on your device asking to set up a payment method.