Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Check here to find out more about ICE, Satellite Navigation, Telecoms etc.

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster

Ant
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by Ant » Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:43 pm

cheers, i had a very good afternoon.

In just 25 minutes i had fitted the stereo, then fitted the LED facelift number plate lights and then the Performance grills, love it when things are easy like that.
Some 2.0 Civic thing

pacha
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:12 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by pacha » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:26 pm

Ant,

Me too bought a Pro h/u from ebay, from a 3 SERIES and everything worked fine... parking sensors front and rear and Steering controls. Now I even have the mileage on screen if I want too.

Only thing is that the audible warning sound (bong - like seatbelt) not sounding anymore.

Is yours working? Or maybe there is a setting that im' missing?

User avatar
TiSwAs
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:15 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by TiSwAs » Sat Jan 29, 2011 9:49 pm

is there a part number or a specific model number etc that i can search for - wouldnt mind upgrading mine.

Thanks

SilverSun
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:22 pm
Location: Croydon, Surrey

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by SilverSun » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:11 am

pacha wrote:Ant,

Me too bought a Pro h/u from ebay, from a 3 SERIES and everything worked fine... parking sensors front and rear and Steering controls. Now I even have the mileage on screen if I want too.

Only thing is that the audible warning sound (bong - like seatbelt) not sounding anymore.

Is yours working? Or maybe there is a setting that im' missing?
Sounds like a feature to me, that bloody bong is annoying! :lol:


I think the part number is P/NO.65.12-9 150 109, It is the BMW Professional Radio (Alpine CD73) the 3 series E90 and E91 share the same radio.

blingers
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by blingers » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:37 am

there are also professional headunits from siemens VDO? did bmw change suppliers? are the newer alpine cd73's just remanufactured ones?

User avatar
TiSwAs
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:15 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by TiSwAs » Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:23 pm

magic - now i'll have to have a good mouch around for one... leave my Bose from my A4 will be difficult to a Business unit so the sooner the better really!

pacha
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:12 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by pacha » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:20 pm

Sounds like a feature to me, that bloody bong is annoying!
Silversun,

I would tend to agree that the bong is really annoying. And one could also do without it since it still displays on the OBC.

But still, its not as like it was factory fitted and something is missing. Maybe a visit to the stealers for coding would solve the issue.

Funk
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:57 am

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by Funk » Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:10 pm

I'll gladly take one that stops that annoying 'BONG!' whenever a warning pops up. Very annoying.

SilverSun
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:22 pm
Location: Croydon, Surrey

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by SilverSun » Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:11 am

My god... Just fitted my professional unit.

How good are MP3 CDS 700MB of songs, full tract title and artist displayed, significantly improved sound. Really pleased i took all your advice and did it.

Much better unit...I like the trip information display too. :D

Bushy
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 1:11 pm

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by Bushy » Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:56 am

SilverSun wrote:My god... Just fitted my professional unit.

How good are MP3 CDS 700MB of songs, full tract title and artist displayed, significantly improved sound. Really pleased i took all your advice and did it.

Much better unit...I like the trip information display too. :D
+1. Best addition i done to car by a mile off.
muz1990 wrote: Bushy might come across a tw*t on here sometimes, but that's the point!

Funk
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:57 am

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by Funk » Thu Feb 10, 2011 3:45 pm

SilverSun wrote:My god... Just fitted my professional unit.

How good are MP3 CDS 700MB of songs, full tract title and artist displayed, significantly improved sound. Really pleased i took all your advice and did it.

Much better unit...I like the trip information display too. :D
Unbelievably, there are folk on here who say upgrading the head unit makes no difference to the sound...!

Have you already got tweeters and stuff? If not, they'll really transform things.

hugoman42
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Portsmouth/Greece

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by hugoman42 » Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:17 am

We are in the same boat is I bought 118d sport in Jan 10. I have also just bought a new pro hu on ebay which I will be tackling this weekend. What you might want to check is if (like me) you have two subwoofers fitted but only the one under the passenger seat is connected. (Set bass to full, treble to min and move balance from left - loads a bass -to right b***** all bass. I am now trying to find some help in how to section to find out how to connect the subwoofer in to the door speaker wiring (as it is on the passenger side). Have also contacted bmw uk to complain that having bought model on green(ish) grounds I have been lugging their surplus stock subwoofer around for a year. Anyone any help please? The how to alpine upgrade really only deals with connecting to amp in boot I think.

rob-the-viking
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:18 pm
Location: England

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by rob-the-viking » Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:02 am

Would it not be easier to splice into the wiring to the working sub mate?

hugoman42
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 7:43 am
Location: Portsmouth/Greece

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by hugoman42 » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:28 pm

That wouldn't work as impedance would be too low. ebay pro hu arrived and, as promised, was working in ten mins. Thanks guys. Took the plunge and cut into what I thought was the right front speaker drive - it was! and spurred off to unused driver sub. Everything working now with much better sound.

Funk
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 1311
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:57 am

Re: Upgrading Business to Professional radio

Post by Funk » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:31 pm

rob-the-viking wrote:Would it not be easier to splice into the wiring to the working sub mate?
Not if he wants stereo bass.. All he'd get would be left-channel bass.

Post Reply

Return to “In Car Entertainment, Communication & Sat Nav”