Stop/Start delay

Information about coding your BMW

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster

Post Reply
hulahoopian
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:36 pm

Stop/Start delay

Post by hulahoopian » Tue May 08, 2018 1:01 pm

I like stop/start, but if you're trickling along you don't really want it firing all the time. I guess there's no way to code it to wait, say, 5 seconds after stopping, before it cuts in ?

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5092
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Stop/Start delay

Post by Wibbles » Mon May 21, 2018 11:28 am

it can be coded to remember the last setting or always default to being off.

PM me if you would like this done remotely for a reasonable fee.
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

User avatar
Sonic1506
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 7864
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:08 am
Location: Here, There, Everywhere.

Re: Stop/Start delay

Post by Sonic1506 » Mon May 21, 2018 11:36 am

hulahoopian wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 1:01 pm
I like stop/start, but if you're trickling along you don't really want it firing all the time. I guess there's no way to code it to wait, say, 5 seconds after stopping, before it cuts in ?
Just press the button to turn it off, then turn it back on once you're in flowing traffic.

User avatar
Barney McGrew
Enthusiastic Member
Enthusiastic Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Stop/Start delay

Post by Barney McGrew » Mon May 21, 2018 1:31 pm

The system is set up to 'detect' start stop traffic, so if you only crawl forward a tiny amount and then stop again, the system will stop shutting down.

I guess anything like this will have a threshold though, so slightly over a time and it'll keep kicking in. There's the button to deactivate it as mentioned, but if the traffic is obviously a bit dodgy and I don't want it active I also sometimes use Sport mode as this deactivates it too.

Post Reply

Return to “Coding/Software”