Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

E and F series coding & Diagnostics, performed on site and remotely.
Cable sales -- Loan cables – Cruise control retrofit options for all 1 & 2 series cars.
Coding options for all BMW cars and competitive prices.

Moderators: Rich196, babybmwadmin, marco_polo, Producethis, Lambster, BRDiagnostics

Post Reply
Andre2004
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Solihull

Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Andre2004 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:47 pm

Hi, I'm looking to get speed limit enabled, maybe other warnings that kafas2 enables, I'm looking to get a quote for the full retrofit if possible or alternatively just the install if I buy the parts.


I have HBA assist but i understand this isn't kafas2 camera, my car options are below if this helps, any help as always is greatly appreciated.

L812A National version England / Ireland
P337A M Sports package
S1CAA Selection of COP relevant vehicles
S1CBA CO2 package
S230A Extra package, EU-specific
S249A Multifunction f steering wheel
S258A Tire with run-flat functionality
S2N4A BMW LA wheel M Star Spoke 386
S2PAA Wheel bolt retainer
S2VLA Variable Sport steering
S302A Alarm system
S3APA Windshield with grey wedge
S420A Sun protection glazing
S423A Floor mats, velours
S428A Warning triangle and first aid kit
S431A Interior mirror with automatic-dip
S481A Sports seat
S4AEA Armrest front, retractable
S4DXA Accent moldings, blue metallic matt
S4MRA Interior strips, aluminum hexagon
S502A Headlight cleaning system
S508A Park Distance Control (PDC)
S520A Fog lights
S521A Rain sensor
S522A Xenon Light
S524A Adaptive Headlights
S534A Automatic air conditioning
S544A Cruise control with brake function
S575A Supplementary 12V sockets
S5ACA High-beam assistant
S5DAA Passenger airbag deactivation
S5DCA Rear-seat headrests, folding
S609A Navigation system Professional
S612A BMW Assist
S615A Expanded BMW Online Information
S616A BMW Online
S654A DAB tuner
S698A Area-Code 2 for DVD
S6AAA BMW TeleServices
S6ABA Control for Teleservices
S6NLA Connection Bluetooth + USB devices incl.
S6WAA Instrument cluster, expanded equipment
S6WAA Instrument cluster, expanded equipment
S704A M Sports suspension
S710A M leather steering wheel
S715A M Aerodynamics package
S760A High gloss shadow line
S775A Headlining anthracite
S850A Dummy-SALAPA
S853A Language version English
S880A On-board vehicle literature English
S8KAA Dummy-SALAPA
S8S2A Coding alarm signal
S8S3A Automatic locking when driving off
S8SCA Telematics access request,country-spec.
S8SMA Car ident. number visible from outside
S8TGA Thiefproofing device
S8V1A Label
Estoril Blue F20 M Sport 120D - Pro Nav/DVD/6NL/BMW Advanced Online/HBA/BMW fitted HUS/Loads of extras HK Speaker upgrade with stock stereo
Sapphire Black e93 LCI M Sport 320D
Montego Blue e87 LCI SE 118D - Pro HU Bluetooth/USB

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Wibbles » Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:59 pm

Check your windscreen on the outside - does it say "Connected Drive"
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Andre2004
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Solihull

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Andre2004 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:51 pm

It doesn't unfortunately, it just has a camera which i'm guessing is for the high beam assistant/adaptive headlights maybe.

IMG_1715.JPG
IMG_1715.JPG (87.59 KiB) Viewed 407 times
Estoril Blue F20 M Sport 120D - Pro Nav/DVD/6NL/BMW Advanced Online/HBA/BMW fitted HUS/Loads of extras HK Speaker upgrade with stock stereo
Sapphire Black e93 LCI M Sport 320D
Montego Blue e87 LCI SE 118D - Pro HU Bluetooth/USB

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Wibbles » Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:14 pm

Correct.

you can activate it with an emulator that just uses the Nav data but I've not installed one, only activated using FSC codes where the Kafas is installed form factory.
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Andre2004
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Solihull

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Andre2004 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:59 pm

Wibbles wrote:
Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:14 pm
Correct.

you can activate it with an emulator that just uses the Nav data but I've not installed one, only activated using FSC codes where the Kafas is installed form factory.
No probs, thanks for checking, i may have a look to see if the emulators are easy to obtain/install. Its more of a comfort thing really when in unfamilar areas, I get speed limit info my bmw heads up screen, but it have to turn the hus app on my phone every time for that, which i spose i can live with for the sake of a few seconds turning the app on when i get in the car.
Estoril Blue F20 M Sport 120D - Pro Nav/DVD/6NL/BMW Advanced Online/HBA/BMW fitted HUS/Loads of extras HK Speaker upgrade with stock stereo
Sapphire Black e93 LCI M Sport 320D
Montego Blue e87 LCI SE 118D - Pro HU Bluetooth/USB

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Wibbles » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:06 pm

I can supply the emulator
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Jonnybravo
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:32 am

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Jonnybravo » Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:56 pm

How easy it connect up and does it require coding?
M140i SE: BBS CH-R Wheels, KW V2 coilovers, M4 LCA + TS, subframe inserts, BMW LSD, JB4 + FF & EWG wires, BMS meth kit, 3.5" exhaust, Maxton splitter, side blades, M foils, carbon spoiler, carbon 500 alcantara steering & M2 paddles

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Wibbles » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:37 pm

Jonnybravo wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:56 pm
How easy it connect up and does it require coding?
It requires the speedometer removing (2 torx screws), and some wires tapped.

Coding is required to activate afterwards.

Pre-requisites are:
  • NBT Pro Navigation
  • 6WA Black panel speedometer
Pricing - PM me
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Andre2004
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Solihull

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Andre2004 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:30 pm

I have the black panel and I have Pro nav, I'm guessing its NBT based on the code.

This is the code it said just before I updated my maps the other day.

Image

pm sent
Attachments
IMG_1711.jpg
IMG_1711.jpg (120.98 KiB) Viewed 343 times
Estoril Blue F20 M Sport 120D - Pro Nav/DVD/6NL/BMW Advanced Online/HBA/BMW fitted HUS/Loads of extras HK Speaker upgrade with stock stereo
Sapphire Black e93 LCI M Sport 320D
Montego Blue e87 LCI SE 118D - Pro HU Bluetooth/USB

Andre2004
Knowledgeable Member
Knowledgeable Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Solihull

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Andre2004 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:44 pm

I'm just thinking out loud here but, I'm wondering if a car that had speed limit info and the bmw heads up screen would show this in the hus or would this always be independent, not that I would be bothered at all if it was showing in the black panel. Hopefully I'll find out when I get it done :D
Estoril Blue F20 M Sport 120D - Pro Nav/DVD/6NL/BMW Advanced Online/HBA/BMW fitted HUS/Loads of extras HK Speaker upgrade with stock stereo
Sapphire Black e93 LCI M Sport 320D
Montego Blue e87 LCI SE 118D - Pro HU Bluetooth/USB

User avatar
Wibbles
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Too Much Time To Waste Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:53 pm
Location: Tyne & Wear

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Wibbles » Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:34 am

Andre2004 wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:44 pm
I'm just thinking out loud here but, I'm wondering if a car that had speed limit info and the bmw heads up screen would show this in the hus or would this always be independent, not that I would be bothered at all if it was showing in the black panel. Hopefully I'll find out when I get it done :D
It will display in both HUD & Black Panel.
BR Diagnostics & Retrofits
Apple Carplay - ONLY £89 - BabyBMW Special offer!
FULL SCREEN CARPLAY NOW AVAILABLE!
Coding for all BMW's: Enquiries@BRdiagnostics.co.uk
Please visit my BabyBMW sponsors section: Here
BRD on Facebook

Raygbmw1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: Looking to get Kafas2 installed for speed limit

Post by Raygbmw1 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:17 am

I’ve retrofitted Kafas2 camera in my 116i.

I had to get the windscreen changed and bought the camera, ecu, new rear view mirror cover and cables for kafas2 camera. Installation was straight forward just followed ISTA wiring and installation of the kafas ecu module.

I had to flash the camera and install the FSC code for 8TH speed limit information. It worked after that.

OP you will need to get FSC code for 8TH and code your car. Google is your friend.

Post Reply

Return to “BR Diagnostics & Retrofits”